YSU Home   |   About YSU   |   Admissions   |   Faculty and Staff   |   News   |   Calendars   |   A-Z Index



Congratulations to our 2014 graduates!

Six majors iPhysics and/or Physics-Astronomy are leaving us and going on to amaze the world (and graduate schools) during Spring and Summer commencements this year.

From left: Chris Karlic, spring; Josh Petrus, spring; MikeAviles, summer; Anthony Mazzocco, summer; and Mike McMaster, spring. Missing: Brandon Latronica, summer.

Get ready world, here they come.



The language of Physics is math ...

Michael BakerPhysics Major Michael Baker knows this well, and was among 11 YSU students speaking math so well at the annual MathFest of the American Association of America and Pi Mu Epsilon that the YSU team brought home six (count 'em: 6) awards. The team broke the record of five awards set in 2005 (also by teams from YSU). No other schools has won more than three MathFest awards.

Full story at YSU News Center ...


Congratulations to 2013-14 Physics & Astronomy Scholarship Recipients

Mike McMaster-thumbnail Josh Petras-thumbnail 

Six majors received scholarships during the recent YSU Honors Convocation and Awards Banquet.

Mike McMaster, left, was awarded the Albert A. Guerrieri Jr. Memorial Scholarship, and Josh Petrus, right), received the Frank M. Clark Award.

Victoria Centofanti, not pictured, received the Dr. Ronald A. Parise Memorial Scholarship.

Mike Baker-thumbnail
Connor Hetzel-thumbnail Davidson Lu-thumbnail

From left, Mike Baker, Connor Hetzel, and Davidson Lu, each received an award from the John and Lina Moteff Scholarship.


In addition, Dr. Tom Oder received a Distinguished Professorship Award in the category of Service

AllofE Solutions